top of page

Going back to school at 41 years old!

Updated: Feb 2, 2023

What made a 41-year-old man decide to go back to school?



Why did I pick The Los Angelos Film School (LAFS)?

I had thought about returning to school a few times but couldn't find a school I liked or that fit my learning style. Of all the schools I looked into when I was younger, none of them spoke to me. That was until I found the Los Angelos Film school. They have many subjects and courses that appeal to me and a teaching style that fits my lifestyle. I have always been interested in entertainment and am passionate about D&D and Anime. The LAFS was the best choice for me and will help me make excellent content for my channel and the world. Their project-based assignments over a simple test were a key selling point for me, along with the online courses they provide.

What made me decide to go back to school

Year after year, I worked as hard as possible at every job I had in hopes of moving up the corporate ladder. After getting injured at work and tossed aside, I felt like I had wasted all my life trying to prove myself. I was trying to prove my value to people who didn't care about me or anyone but themselves. I realized I was lost because I had no job and poor health, so what should I do now? I took a lot of time soul-searching, and after everything I had gone through, I knew what to do. I enrolled at LAFS for my Bachelor of Science in Media Communication, something I still can't believe. My dream is to do well in school and make my kids, wife, parents, siblings, and me proud of myself.


How do I like school so far?

I never thought I would like school as much as I do, and even more so have a 3.97 GPA in my studies. My life at 41 has been a whirlwind, but I can smile knowing that at least my schooling is going well. I am aware that I have confidence in my family's future and myself because of my hard work. I wouldn't have had that clarity if I never went back to school. Thank you, LAFS, and everyone who has helped and motivated me. To say I like school is an understatement because not only do the Instructors care and help you, the courses are fun and enlightening.


What are my plans after school?

I want to become a Producer, mainly focusing on Media. As a Media Producer, I would love to create inspiring work that the world can enjoy. More so, I want to give my family the future they deserve. I plan to apply my skills as a Freelance Media Producer to create a body of work that can stand the test of time. With an eye for detail, and I use that on every project, like web design, photo editing, and video editing. Once I have made a name for myself, I plan to work in the entertainment field, anime, television, or films. I want to take everything I have learned to make the world smile.

4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page